The Black Cat - Edgar Allan Poe

Yet mad I am not... and very surely do I not dream.

The Black Cat is a collection of writings by Edgar Allan Poe. The titles include horror tales: Ligeia, The Fall of the House of Usher, William Wilson, The Masque of the Red Death, The Oval Portrait, The Black Cat, The Pit and the Pendulum, The Tell-Tale Heart, The Premature Burial, and The Cask of Amontillado; and also detective stories: The Murders in the Rue Morgue, The Mystery of Marie Roget, and The Purloined Letter.

Most of these stories are great, but I especially like the detective stories of this book. All three of them involve C. Auguste Dupin, an unofficial "detective" who uses his mind to solve crimes in Paris. The Murders in the Rue Morgue is probably my favorite. In it, a woman and her daughter was brutally murdered by someone in their house. The daughter was found stuffed in the chimney and the woman was found in the yard with her head barely attached to the body anymore. The problem was that no other person was found in the house, even though the witnesses heard a man's voice before they arrived at the crime scene. Dupin and his friend decided to try to solve this mystery themselves and in the end reached to the most unexpected conclusion ever.

It's really a good combination of the writer's excellence in writing terrifying horror imagery and clever crime stories. Definitely worth a read for all detective stories' fans.

The Black Cat
Edgar Allan Poe
First Published